Hair Chalking: Freaking out your parents without the committment

So you’re probably looking at this picture of me with blue streaks in my hair saying “What the heck, that’s not a crochet project!” True, but I do consider it a craft project because of what I used to dye it with. As you may have guessed from the title of this post, it’s chalk. And, Mom, in case you are concerned, it will supposedly wash out. Best of all, it colors even dark hair without bleach! The one drawback it it’s messy (although it does clean up easily) so it’s a good thing I decided to do this right before I planned on cleaning the bathroom anyway.

I’ve always kind of wanted blue hair, possibly because my favorite comic book character that I made up as a kid had blue hair. Hers was natural, though, because she was from Pluto.

Anyway, I’ve always kind of wanted blue hair but have never wanted to deal with the time commitment that goes along with maintaining dyed hair. Also, now that I’m considered by law to be an adult, and therefore have to do things like go to work and pretend that I’m not secretly a Princess from Pluto, I have to be able to look professional when the need arises.

If any potential employers read my blog, all I have to say in my own defense is that while I am doing silly things like putting chalk in my hair, making crocheted dolls of Tim Burton characters (Sally is still in progress, by the way), and ranting about chenille stem vs. pipecleaner terminology, at least I am not drinking copious amounts of alcohol and taking embarrassing Facebook pictures, which I believe are the first thing everyone always checks for. Plus, assuming this washes out like it’s supposed to, there is little danger of me showing up to work with blue hair.

I have noticed that this is turning into a rant, so I will just give you the address for the video that gave me this idea and let you go about your business. Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ly4GhDia4k

The girl who made the video is named Kandee Johnson, she also does a lot of cool makeup videos and is just adorable.

Well, that’s all for now. With any luck I may have an actual crochet project to show you once Spring Break rolls around. We’ll see.

5 Comments »

  1. Kay Said:

    Assunta, That was very funny! I’m glad you didn’t dye your hair, because, as you must know by now, blue hair is only for old ladies! Ha ha!

    I especially loved your title. I didn’t get freaked out at all!

    • Assunta Said:

      Darn, I can’t freak you out at all anymore! You just trust me too much, which I guess is a good thing. 🙂

  2. Lynn Said:

    What a coincidence, Nunna! That’s the very same color Uncle Jim and I chose for chalking our hair!!

    • Assunta Said:

      Haha, I would love to see you and Uncle Jim with bright blue hair! Not sure I believe, you, though…

      • Lynn Said:

        I guess only a picture would suffice…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

