Vampire Fashions

 

Something about winter weather makes me want to just stay in my coffin all day long. Since I can’t actually get away with this (and I’m guessing you can’t either if you’re reading this), the next coziest thing is sitting at home with a nice glass of blood (or hot chocolate, if you prefer) and a good knitting project. 

I whipped this corsette together in the brief gap between Finals and starting to work on my Christmas presents, feeling like I needed something a little vampiric to take my mind of the cold grayness outside. It is not my own pattern, so if you would like to make one too, go to http://marniemaclean.com/patterns/knittysubmission/knitty.html

This is the smallest size but the pattern makes it very easy to adjust for any body shape. You can also make it longer or adjust the amount of coverage in the front. Mine closes completely in the front while the original design was a little more open. I chose black and red for classic vampire colors, but the original design was more white and brown. Of course, you could make this pattern in any colors you like.

Along the same lines, I recently checked out this book from the library:

It looks pretty cool but I haven’t had the chance to make anything from it yet. However, if my current vampiric mood continues it is quite likely you will see some pieces from it very soon. I will keep you up to date so you can see what I make and how it all turns out.

Happy Holidays from a sleepy vampire!

2 Comments »

  1. Kay Said:

    Assunta, you might stop being in a “vampire frame of mind” if you didn’t keep watching those “Twiglight” movies with me!
    Anyway, your little top looked adorable on you. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    Mom

  2. Lynn Said:

    Oh, my Nunna! You look so thin! But I do love the corset, even though I have great difficulty thinking of you as vampirish in any respect…

    Love you.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

