Napkin Ring Video Tutorial

Here it is, my first video tutorial! This was fun to make but I just want to say right now that I don’t pretend to possess amazing film editing skills or amazing speaking-in-front-of-a-camera skills, in fact, I kept having to correct myself. For example, when I used white ribbon “because it’s easy to see,” I crack up because the white ribbon matches the tape ring so well you can’t see it at all in the video. If it bothered me too much I could have filmed that part over, but I didn’t.

Anyway, these are the things you need to make a napkin ring (I also go over these in the video):

-a plastic ring from a roll of scotch tape (or more than one if you want to make a whole set)

-1 spool of 1/4” wide ribbon in your chosen color (I used 1/8” in the video, it worked but was a little narrower than I would have liked. Also, you can use white ribbon, it will still make a good napkin ring, it just doesn’t show up that well on camera.)

-a small amount of tape

-tacky glue

Well, I hope you like the video, it is also now on YouTube!

2 Comments »

  1. Kay Said:

    Hey Assunta, I liked your tutorial. It got me to thinking. What if you did a second layer of skinnier or contrasting color ribbon over top the base layer? Maybe you could even add some small beads, but just have them on the outside of the napkin ring?

    • Assunta Said:

      Ooh, I love the idea of a second layer of contrasting ribbon! I have added beads before but I think it would definitely require two layers of ribbon because otherwise there will be gaps between where the beads are.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

